Introduction to Public Safety Careers: Legal Articles in databases

Get background information on your topic from an online reference book.  

Search Gale E-books (Formerly the Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/   Click on "Start Here."   

You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library

Once on the Library Start Page, click on "Database List."

Scroll down and click on Gale ebooks/ formerly the Gale Virtual Reference Library

When prompted, enter your Username (lastname.firstname) and your Password (ccm plus 7 digit student ID)

In the Search box, type in your topic (Terry Ohio) and search.  

Click on an article of interest.

Find a court case in a library database.

Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/   Click on "Start Here."  

You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library

Once on the Library Start Page, click on "Database List."

Click on the following database: 

NEXIS UNI (formerly LEXIS NEXIS)

Enter your Username and Password when prompted by the CCM proxy server login box.

At the top of the screen, click on LEGAL.  Beneath the search box, click on FEDERAL.

In the search box, type: Terry Ohio and search.

To the left of the results, click on "Court" and Select "Supreme Court".

Select the case from the results list and click on its blue linked title.

Note the EXPORT CITATION button at the top. 

Scroll down for information on: the Case Summary, Syllabus, Opinion, Dissent and References.

At the top left side of the page, find the icons to print, email or download this document.

Get law reviews or policing trade journals on your topic.

Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/   Click on "Start Here."   

You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library

Once on the Library Start Page, click on "Database List."

Scroll down and click on Criminal Justice Collection - Gale Onefile

Type in your keyword phrase (example:  Terry Ohio) and click on Search

To narrow your results, select the Academic Journal, News, or Magazine heading above.

You may also limit by Publication Date (past year, custom date range, etc) and Full text documents.

Select a title, and print, email or save the document by locating the icons on the top right corner of the screen.