Get background information on your topic from an online reference book. A reference book should only be used for background information and to help you formulate a draft of your thesis statement. It is not an appropriate source to quote, paraphrase and cite in the body of your paper.
Go to www.ccm.edu/library and click on Search Ebooks, Streaming Video & Audio.
Option 1
In the search box, type in Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folktales and Fairy Tales and click SEARCH
Scroll down to Volume 1, and click on VIEW EBOOK
Enter your Username (lastname.firstname) and your Password (ccm plus 7 digit student ID).
In the Table of Contents, click on the Guide to Tale Type, Motif, etc. and Print pages of interest.
In the “Quick Search” box on the left side, type in your topic (Example: Cinderella) and search.
Click on an article of interest and print.
Option 2
From the library catalog page, type The Worldmark Encyclopedia of Culture and Daily Life in the box and click SEARCH.
Click on VIEW EBOOK for the 2017 Edition, and enter your login information.
From the drop-down menu, choose your continent, then click on the link to your country.
Print or email or save the article.
For a short video on searching these ebook encyclopedias from home, click play on the video below.
Find longer works, try searching for an ebook or a print book in the library catalog. Ebooks may be accessed from home.
Books and E-books
How to search the library catalog
Go to www.ccm.edu/library
Scroll down and click on Books, Ebooks, Streaming Video and Audio. The default searches books and ebooks.
In the search box, type your topic.
Note: use the following template, and see the example immediately following:
Folklore Country/Region. Tales Country/Region. History Country/Region.
Example:
Folklore Italy. Folklore Sicily. Tales Italy. Tales Sicily. History Italy. History Sicily.
Click on Search.
For a print book, note the availability and the location. (Note: some books are in the Demare Hall Speech Lab).
For an ebook, click on the View ebook button
Enter your CCM Username and Password in the proxy server login box (lastname.firstname and ccm plus your 7 digit ID number)
Browse through the ebook. (Note: formats will differ between publishers)
Contact the library with any questions
For a short video on searching the catalog, click play on the video below
Find scholarly articles on your topics in the library databases.
Go to www.ccm.edu/library and scroll down and click on ARTICLES & DATABASES
Click on the following database:
Academic Search Premier
Enter your Username and Password when prompted by the proxy server login box
Above the search box, click on CHOOSE DATABASES
Select Communications and Mass Media Complete, MLA Interntaional Bibliography and APA Psycharticles, along with Academic Search Premier
Click OK
Limit to Full text, enter your topic and search.
Use the following three search formats.
Example of a Basic Search
The Title of your tale (Example: Little Red Riding Hood)
The author/ collector of the tale (Example: Grimm)
Example of an Advanced Search
Box 1: Country OR Region (Example: Italy OR Sicily)
Box 2: Tale
Box 3: Folk OR Fairy
From the results page, on the left, you may limit to Scholarly Journals and Language= English
Click on the PDF or HTML of a full text article:
Watch the short video on searching these EBSCO databases by clicking play on the video below: