973-328-5300 | lrcref@ccm.edu | Hours |
Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/ Click on Library Start Page.
(You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library)
Once on the Library Start Page,
Click on Database List.
Scroll down and click on
Points of View: A database with overviews and persuasive arguments on debate topics. Some magazine and newspaper articles included.
If at home, enter your CCM username/ password.
Browse through the topics (example: Citizens' Rights) and click on the subtopic (Privacy)
On the left side column of the results, limit to Full Text and publication date (Past year)
Note the Overview, Critical Analysis Guide, and Points of View. Magazines, Newspapers and Journals are also available.
Get background information and a general overview on your topic from an online reference book.
Search Gale Ebooks - formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library: a database of e-encyclopedias, which give a broad overview of various topics in all fields.
Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/ Click on Library Start Page.
You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library
Once on the Library Start Page, click on Assignments.
Click on Database List.
Scroll down and click on Gale Ebooks/ Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library
Enter your Username (lastname.firstname) and your Password (ccm plus 7 digit student ID)
In the “Search” box, type in your topic (Example: "privacy") and click search.
From the results list, click on a the title and print the article.
Find scholarly articles, news, or opinion essays on your topics in the library databases.
Scholarly, Academic or Peer-reviewed journal articles will often cover research in the field.
Magazine and Trade Journals and Newspaper articles will provide current news on the topic.
Newspapers and Magazines will also contain editorial or opinion pieces or persuasive essays.
Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/ Click on Library Start Page.
You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library
Once on the Library Start Page,
Click on Database List.
Click on one of the following GALE databases:
Academic Onefile or General Onefile (Note: Academic Onefile emphasizes scholarly, peer-reviewed research journal articles in all fields, including the sciences, social sciences and humanities. General Onefile emphasizes popular magazines, industry trade publications and newspapers, although it also has a small set of academic journals).
Enter your Username and Password when prompted
Enter your topic (example: privacy) in the box and click Search
On the right side column of the results, limit to Full Text and publication date (Past year) and (optional) document type (such as "editorial")
To read the article, click on the title
Next, return to the database list and click on the following EBSCO database:
Academic Search Premier: a database which emphasizes scholarly, peer-reviewed research journal articles in all fields, including the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Bonus: Click on Choose Databases (Above the search box)
Put a check next to Business Source, a database of business magazines, academic journals or news, or Masterfile, a database of magazines and newspaper articles with a few academic journals, or Medline, a database of scholarly journals in medicine, or any other interesting database. Click OK
Enter your topic (example: privacy) in the box and click Search
On the left side column of the results, limit to Full Text and publication date (Past year)
To read the article, click on the HTML or PDF text link. Print or email or save the article.
Bonus: Return to the database list and click on the following database
Nexis Uni: a comprehensive database of newspapers, as well as materials on laws, court cases and company profiles.
Enter your topic (example: privacy) and choose NEWS from the drop down menu for content type, select Newspapers, and click Search
From the Results Page, on the left side column, limit by Timeline (2020-present) and Publication Type (Newspapers) and Geography (North America) or Sources (NYT).
Click on at title of an article, then choose print, email or download icons at the top.
Also: Ask a librarian for assistance on searching "Case Law" for select topics (such as "privacy").