English Comp 2 -- Short Story -- Prof. McAree-- Everyday Use: Assignments

Get background information on your topic from an online reference book.  A reference book should only be used for background information and to help you formulate a draft of your thesis statement.  It is not an appropriate source to quote, paraphrase and cite in the body of your paper.

Search Gale Ebooks/ Formerly the GALE Virtual Reference Library

Go to https://www.ccm.edu/student-support/library/   Click on Library Start Page.   

You may also just go directly to the Library Start Page at ccm.libguides.com/Library

Once on the Library Start Page, look for the Library Resources box on the lower left side. 

Click on Database List.

Scroll down and click on Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Enter your Username (lastname.firstname) and your Password (ccm plus 7 digit student ID)

In the subject column on the left side, click on LITERATURE

In the “Search within Literature” box, type in your author 

For a short video on searching this database from home, click below.

Search the library catalog for long works of criticism, in print or ebook format, on your author’s body of work. 

E-books may be accessed from home and print books may be checked out for 4 weeks.

E-books and Print Books

How to search the library catalog

 Search for books about your author, written by other scholars:

• Go to ccm.libguides.com/Library and click on Assignments
• Click on Search Books
• In the search box, type in the author's Firstname Lastname.  
• Note: The default search is for print books and e-books.  For audio or video files, select the appropriate tab.  Search.
• Click on the book’s title for more details
• If the title is an e-book, click on the "View E-book" tab and enter your CCM Username  (lastname.firstname) and your Password (ccm plus 7 digit student ID)
• For print books, select the 'print book' box to the left of the results.
• Note the call number, location and availability of the book
• If you find a print book that you would like to read, you may check it out with your CCM photo ID card.

Find scholarly articles on your topics in the library databases.

Go to ccm.libguides.com/Library

Click on Database List (in the box on the lower left corner)

Click on one of the following databases:  

JSTOR or  Literature by Gale (previously Literary Sources) or MLA International Bibliography

Enter your Username and Password when prompted

Search each database with the format of :  author's name AND story title. 

Example:  Faulkner AND Barn Burning

Save, print or email the full text of the article.

If full text is not available, please fill out an interlibrary loan order form and submit it. 

Note: We usually receive articles within 2 weeks, and books within 4 weeks.