This LibGuide is a working document with digitized copies of the Youngtown Edition. Upon its lanuch, this archive contains searchable PDF files of the first five years of the Youngtown Edition, the County College of Morris student newspaper. The Youngtown Edition Digital Archives project has been coordinated by Tatiana Atehortua, County College of Morris student and library assistant. This collection is given to the County College of Morris on October 18, 2023 in honor of their 55th anniversary and in celebration of 55 years of Youngtown Edition publication.
Each tab above has the volumes of the Youngtown Edition published during the fall and spring semesters from the Fall 1968 through Spring 1973.
We are grateful to Don Phelps of Campus Life for loaning us the papers missing in the library collection and to Dean Shelley Kurland for technical advice and equipment.
Additional scans of the Youngtown Edition, through Spring 2016, are available in the CCM Library Archives.
If you have any feedback regarding the digital Youngtown Edition, please contact Lia Carruthers - see the right sidebar below.
Who?
The Youngtown Edition is the student-run newspaper of County College of Morris.
What?
The CCM Library has collected paper editions of The Youngtown Edition and has started a digitization project to showcase the newspaper beginning in its inaugural year 1968.
Where?
Physical copies of the newspaper through 2016 are housed in the CCM Archives and additional copies are in the Student Activities Office on campus.
When?
The first edition of the Youngtown Edition was published on October 18, 1968, the inaugural year of the college. The newspaper was printed just about weekly throughout the semesters over the years following. This LibGuide begins with the first five years of the newspaper's publication. Additional years will follow. For more current issues of the Youngtown Edition, visit CCM's Campus Life Publications page for more.
Why?
The pages of the Youngtown Edition give the reader a glimpse into the lives of students at the time of the paper publication. The newspaper is filled with information about student life on and off campus including changes to faculty and staff at CCM, speakers at CCM, politics on and off campus, sports, concerts, student activities, student trips, and so much more.
-------------------------------
*In Archives, a Finding Aid tells you the who, what, where, when and why of a collection.
214 Center Grove Rd, Randolph, NJ 07869
